Something for me

Why on earth would I start a blog? I know, it seems like a bit of a strange thing to do. I’ve got 3 children under 4, haven’t I got enough to do? Well yes, I’ll be honest, I do collapse into bed every night with a fair portion of my to do list left unticked. The washing pile is so big that it contains things that haven’t fit the kids for several months, there’s still quite a few boxes waiting to be unpacked in the spare room (and we moved in three months ago) and I should probably just stop pretending to myself that I’m ever going to get a chance to iron the clean clothes (or let’s be honest, even put them away some weeks) before they end up back on our bodies. Life is busy. I’m busier than I’ve ever been, looking after my little brood. But I do think it’s important that I find the time to do something that I want to do, just for myself. More important than ironing anyway.

Until now I’ve used my evening down time mainly to have baths, read blogs and have a browse through Facebook and Instagram. But I thought why not do something a bit more constructive and give this blog thing a go myself. It’s mainly an attempt to use the creative part of my brain for something other than kids crafts (another bloody card, why are there so many ‘occasions’ on the calendar to make cards for?), or figuring out what to make for dinner from what’s left in the fridge, bonus points if everyone actually eats it for a change (bacon, pasta and carrots anyone?). I love learning new things and as much as the above are valuable skills, no doubt about that, I feel like I’m ready for a new challenge. I’m not a writer, or a photographer, and I don’t really have a clue what I’m doing, but I love reading other people’s blogs, and I thought I’d see if I can learn how to do it too. I’m going to try and use the DSLR camera a lot more and hopefully my pictures will get better as I get more practice. The same as any mother I’m sure, taking lots of pictures of my children will not be a problem! There are also going to be my normal standard of crappy iPhone pictures, because most of the time, you’ve just got to grab what’s nearest and snap a pic before the moment had gone. I really want to make sure I preserve these memories for me and my family, because it all seems to be whizzing past so quickly at the moment.

I feel quite strongly about recording the good, the bad and the ugly, because I want to remember this time as it really was, not an edited version. So this is going to be a really honest account of my experience of parenting 3 amazing little people who drive me crazy and fill me with so much love I feel like I could burst at the same time.

Me and my three at the end of a day of hard core mothering. Note my cheesy grin in gleeful anticipation of bedtime. That is a face that is just glad to have survived the day

Thankyou for reading! Come and find me on Twitter/Facebook/Instagram, follow the blog by email if you want to make sure you never miss a post and if you like this post, I’d be absolutely made up if you shared it!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Something for me

  1. Just popped over from Twitter, I’m the same (just with two kids though!) I wanted a little something for me, I’m often typing away surrounded by dirty dishes and piles of ironing! It is nice to just use my brain again and a lovely way to capture all the memories! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

