Maverick Baking | Muffins for Brunch

I’ve always been a bit of a maverick baker. I’ll look up a recipe to get a general idea of what I’m supposed to do, but then I’ll just kind of wing it. I’ll be honest, it doesn’t always work out. But this time it did, and I was so shocked pleased, I thought I’d share the recipe.

We had some family coming round on Sunday morning for brunch, so I decided I would attempt some muffins. I found this recipe and decided to follow it loosely/largely ignore it. You don’t need a snot-faced little helper to make these muffins, but I can’t garuntee the same results if you try without.

 

blueberry muffins recipe

Note the blueberry chops!

So the first thing I did was decide that 9 muffins wasn’t nearly enough. When you’re having what is basically cake for breakfast, you may as well go big or go home. So I doubled the recipe.

  • So I beat 220g of butter in a bowl with an electric hand whisk for what seemed like forever, until it had gone pale and creamy. It’s supposed to look like mayonnaise, I’m not sure mine did, but my hand was shaking from holding the whisk, so I decided to call it a day.
  • Next I added 400g of granulated sugar and then beat some more. I don’t have Demerara sugar. Basically whenever a recipe calls for sugar of any kind, I just use granulated.
  • Then I did the same with 2 eggs.
  • Then I chucked in 240g of plain flour and 2tsp of baking powder and mixed in in with a wooden spoon. I don’t sieve things, it’s a pain in the arse. And also, my sieve was originally brought for my planned pool home birth that didn’t happen, so even though it was never used for that, I just think of fishing bits of poo and placenta out of a birthing pool whenever I see it.
  • Next I measured 240ml of milk and squirted a bit of lemon juice in and gave it a mix. I don’t know what buttermilk is, but I read somewhere once you can substitute this milky lemony mixture for it and it just seems a lot easier to me. I added that to the bowl and gave it another mix.
  • Then I basically did the same thing again, another 240g of flour and 2tsp of baking powder, and another 240ml of lemony milk in the bowl. I didn’t have bicarbonate of soda in the cupboard so just used all baking powder.
  • Of course I didn’t leave the mix to rest before I cooked it, nobody has that kind of patience do they?
  • I wanted blueberry muffins and carrot and raisin muffins, so I divided the mix into 2.
  • For the blueberry muffins I added 75g of frozen blueberries to the mixture and then divided it between the cake cases. I don’t think I divided the mixture very evenly because this batch only made 8. I skipped the mashed blueberries part of the recipe because I only had frozen blueberries and I haven’t got time in my life for defrosting blueberries. Before I put them in the oven, I popped 3 blueberries on the top of each muffin. At this point, the girls started eating the frozen blueberries. I don’t know if that’s something you should let your kids do, and I’m not going to say it’s the first time they’ve eaten frozen fruit either.
  • For the carrot muffins, I grated one large carrot into the mixture and also added a couple of handfuls of raisins.
  • I baked each batch separately, in a fan oven at 170C for 25 minutes.

I pretty much stood at the oven door with my mouth open for the entire 25 minutes, just watching them rise. They even had a crack across the top like a proper muffin! Yep, I was pathetically proud of my creations. They went down well though.

sunday brunch muffins

We had them with a fruit salad, greek yoghurt, summer berries compote, melon slices and lots of coffee

DSC_5067

Blueberry muffin recipe

More ‘it-could-have-gone-horribly-wrong-but-somehow-it-turned-out-really-good’ recipes soon.

Thankyou for reading! Come and find me on Twitter/Facebook/Instagram, follow the blog by email if you want to make sure you never miss a post and if you like this post, I’d be absolutely made up if you shared it!

Mummascribbles
2 thoughts on “Maverick Baking | Muffins for Brunch

  1. You are a brave woman! I have tried to go rogue with baking and it always ends up disasterously! These sound heavenly though and I love your polka dot table cloth! #twinklytuesday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

